Oldgas.com Home  
Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#786746 Tue Jan 24 2023 10:21 AM
OP Offline
I'm new to the sign-collecting world and looking for information on how to tell the difference between an original piece and a reproduction. Thanks in advance for any information obtained.

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
welcome aboard .. ... cool

RANDY
Veteran Member
Online Content
Veteran Member
Welcome to Oldgas. Do your research on any/all signs BEFORE you spend your money!

Regards, Jim

I collect gas pump salt and pepper shakers
and the plastic coin banks made by AVSCO.
T
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
T
Welcome

B
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
B
Welcome to OLDGAS

U
U
Welcome! That's a big can of worms. There's a lot to look out for. If you're collecting a specific brand, get to know the brand and logo changes over the years of that brand. There are a lot of fakes and reproductions out there. If the colors don't look right or the logo looks a little off, it's not original. Don't go by the patina either. There are people out there taking new reproduction signs and cracking the porcelain corners around rivets and dinging them with a hammer...then sticking them outside to rust, and/or spraying with salty liquid to make them rust faster and look old. It's big business.

In my experience, double-sided porcelain signs are harder to replicate, so those are a little safer.

If you find signs with cute ladies on them, the signs are new. Old gas signs come from a very conservative era when it was typically just the logo and/or a mascot.