Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#744500 Sat Feb 29 2020 01:49 PM
S
OP Offline
S
Hello everyone. I am new to the gas pump game.

I purchased an old DX service station that I plan use as a shop/man cave. I’ve been looking for an old pump to stick out front and came up with this old Sinclair branded Bennett 541.

My intentions were to pull out the motor/pump assembly, get the dial mechanism freed up and paint it up with DX ad glass and decals.

The more I’ve been looking at it, it just seems too nice and original to paint up. Looks like everything is there minus the globe, computer faces, and sight glasses. Since I’m new to this I’m looking for some advice.

What’s your thoughts? Leave it as is? Try to trade it for a DX pump maybe more period correct (late 50’s-early 60’s)? Go with original plan and gut it and paint it?

5CFBE7CA-4D33-48D1-824C-E97BE4862F16.jpeg 35E3589D-5532-486B-9CDB-7869D03B46AB.jpeg
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
R
Petro Enthusiast
Online Content
Petro Enthusiast
R
Hello, and nice find! Years ago accumulated quite a collection of pumps with the hope of having a museum {small, poor man's museum} so as to allow people who love this stuff and those days see the cool history. Life brings change that we didn't expect, and I ended up having to sell most all of them. Always wanted to totally restore all 30 of those pumps but found over time appreciated the original patina. That said, in my humble opinion I would just clean it up, get it complete, and ENJOY!!! God luck!
P.S Am actually looking to find a Bennett 541 now myself!

Michael F. Moran
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Welcome to Oldgas. Too nice to restore, very nice pump. If you want a DX I’m sure can find a DX

Have gas all the time
Petro Enthusiast
Online Content