Next Thread
Print Thread
H
Hud Oil Offline OP
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
H
Ebay # 130441483087 sign, this sign has been popping up at several meets and I was told this was a fake, what do some of the rest of think of it.

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
IF THAT IS REAL LIKE I THINK IT IS, IT'S IN DARN GREAT SHAPE!

DOC @ THE AMERICAN GARAGE
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
THEN AGAIN I CAN'T FIND ANYTHING ON IT ONLINE OR IN MY PRICE GUIDE LIBRARY. BID AT OWN RISK.

DOC @ THE AMERICAN GARAGE
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
My gut instinct tells me that its real. In order for repops to be profitable to the maker, they have to have a built in demand and I don't see that here. Mutual was an oil company that used the running rabbit on the globes, why wouldn't it be here on the sign if its a repop?? The back looks suspect tho. I'm no sign expert but use the old rule, If you're not sure---stay clear!!

Everything Cities Service
Specializing in old Gas Pumps
kwfrith@gondtc.com
Cell#-701-739-6133
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Sign looks a little out of round

RANDY
D
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
D
I have a Sampson sign that is real deal and that looks like the real deal... Tom

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Tom--Thanks for chiming in! I thought the same. Repops are usually made in large quantity, so as to make large sums rapidly! With the advent of the internet, I believe its put the brakes on the business. We have to keep watch tho and I understand everyones skeptiscism! This sign is more than likely for real and if you're a bidder--just ask the seller to guarantee it!

kwfrith@gondtc.com
Cell#-701-739-6133
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
I know for a fact that some of these turned up about a year ago and they were 100% FAKE. They have the same looks as the recent Indian repops on ebay.

Veteran Member
Veteran Member