Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#771769 Sat Dec 04 2021 08:42 PM
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
Wondering if Mobil ever has used a blue outline Mobilgas Special pump plate with the Pegasus drop leg design like the black outline west coast version. Yesterday while at the Winter Dixie Gas meet a young vendor had one lying on a large tarp with multiple signs that were good original signs. I had never seen this version but, there again, I am no expert. This sign had IR-46 on the lower right side. Didn't get a picture but wish I had. It was made of really thick porcelain coated metal. All the Mobil plates I have are pretty thin and flexible but this one was stiff. Thanks for your replies in advance...Dale

Last edited by Dale Stephens; Sat Dec 04 2021 08:46 PM.

Wanted: Champion Spark plug, Shell, Pennzoil, Kendall, and Woco Pep signs...Dale Stephens
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Dale Stephens #771770 Sat Dec 04 2021 10:48 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
I would say fake. Being thick is no good. Pump plates were thin from about the late 30`s and later so they could flex to fit on curved door pumps.

I likeShell [Linked Image from imagizer.imageshack.com]
Dale Stephens #771778 Sun Dec 05 2021 07:59 AM
D
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
D
Dale, check out the unmarked reproductions on the site here, I've posted many repro and fantasy Mobil plates over the years. I assume the one you saw is the one below.
Darin

http://oldgas.com/forum/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showgallery&Number=688345

Darin Sheffer
Always looking for Mobil and Marathon items I don't already have!
Dale Stephens #771785 Sun Dec 05 2021 11:07 AM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member