Click here for Petro Porcelain Sign auction listings

Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#770659 Fri Nov 12 2021 07:07 PM
plypete Offline OP
OP Offline
Recently acquired a Wayne 276 and I have no experience with previsible pumps. Forgive my terminology if incorrect, but the plunger is stuck so I cannot crank the pump. I poured a can of seafoam down the fuel outlet pipe but really do not have an understanding of how it works so i'm not sure if it will help. I plan on cleaning the pump up and it will be an outside display so I really dont want to completely disassemble that part of the pump. Any ideas about getting it freed up are appreciated.

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
plypete #770695 Sat Nov 13 2021 12:25 PM
G
Veteran Member
Online Content
Veteran Member
G
On these old units, the pump is similar to an old boat bailing tube. The gear system is attached to a simple stroking rod which has a pump ring at the end. The pump plate has leather sweeps attached to cause suction....bringing gas up from the tank. On the down stroke, there is a way to release pressure in the same area. The rod goes up and down inside a brass cylinder. This is a very basic machine. If you don't want to take it apart, try some automatic transmission fluid? It might work? Let it soak a while. There have been times, when I have restored these old pumps and no matter how I tried to get them to move.......I have had to tear them down to accomplish the results needed. Paul www.severngaspumps.com

1 member likes this: plypete
gasmansgp #770702 Sat Nov 13 2021 06:25 PM
plypete Offline OP
OP Offline