Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#6177 Tue Feb 27 2007 08:00 PM
M
OP Offline
M
UPDATE 5/29/07: "MYSTERY CALSO" HAS BEEN FOUND! Scroll to the bottom of this thread to learn more.....

ORIGINAL POST:

I'm new to the OldGas forums....I hope I'm posting this on the right one. I have a rather odd question that I hope someone might be able to help me answer.

I have an (ex-US Army) 1942 Ford GPW jeep that after the war belonged to a Calso gas station somewhere in the Northeast US. I am hoping to be able to pin down the location of this particular station. All I have to go on is the lettering that was found on the jeep during its original restoration:

"_ _ _ _ ERY CALSO STATION "

The first four letters of the name were illegible, but I believe they are probably a place name. This name that was seven letters long and ended in -ery. It could also potentially have been the name of a street or the Calso station's owner, but I'm currently working with the theory that it was the name of a town or borough.

As many of you probably know, Calso gasoline was sold in different parts of the country by various stations under different company names. However, there were 2,360 Calso-branded gas stations, which operated only in the NE United States, and only from 1946 to 1958 (when the Calso name was changed to Chevron). As I understand it, the Calso logo by that point in time was red, which was also the color of the jeep when the above lettering was painted on it.

In order to solve this mystery (unless someone out there happens to remember a red-painted WWII jeep that used to sit at their neighborhood Calso station!), I'm trying to find a list of the locations of Calso gas stations. Does anyone happen to know if such a list exists, and if so, how I might be able to get a copy of it?