Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#580508 Sun Nov 16 2014 07:46 AM
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
I picked up this sign this weekend but I cannot find any history behind it, I am led to believe it predates quaker state am I wrong? How old is it?

I am always looking for anything Texaco or Oklahoma oil and gas company's, also I am a newbie at seeking globes.
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
Sign dates to the 20s. Sterling was an old tyme Pennsylvania company, bought by Quaker State in the late 20s/30s and became the name for their gas/cheaper oils.

Good oil cans don't wait for people, people wait for them.
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
Thanks Luke for the info so I was kind of on the right track then.

I am always looking for anything Texaco or Oklahoma oil and gas company's, also I am a newbie at seeking globes.
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
The "Quaker State Oil Refining Company" was started in the 1913...

It's "Parent Company" (which I don't seem listed in the Quaker State "History") was started in 1859...

http://www.quakerstate.com/#/history

Looking for Tide Water/ Tide Water-Associated/ Tidewater items
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Originally Posted By: 2 Gallon Luke
Sign dates to the 20s. Sterling was an old tyme Pennsylvania company, bought by Quaker State in the late 20s/30s and became the name for their gas/cheaper oils.