#561820 Tue Aug 19 2014 06:29 AM
F
F40LM Offline OP
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
F
Hello guys,

After many months of planning my house build is finally in full swing. Since the Fry 117 I have will serve as one of the lights on the deck I have started the process of bringing it back to at least some of it's prior glory.

I am a complete novice at doing gas pumps, but I know enough from doing car wrenching to be dangerous.

If you would like to add CONSTRUCTIVE advice please do so, non-constrcutive advice shall be ignored.

This will not be a full blown rebuild, I do not plan to take it back to 100% perfection. This will be a well intentioned but cost effective rebuild.

Do not misunderstand, I think old gas pumps are very cool. But they are gas pumps, not holy relics.

Michael

IMG_0787.JPG
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
S
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
S
One word:
Rustoration.
Good luck and I can't wait to see the result.

Last edited by Steve C.; Tue Aug 19 2014 07:17 AM.

Steve Coppens
Always interested in Sunoco items!
Really want a Sunoco National pump ad glass!!
F
F40LM Offline OP
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
F
The glass was removed last year. So this weekend I removed the number rods from the top of the pump.

Here are some 'before and after' pics. Using CLR on the numbers, put the 4" grinder with a steel brush cone on the rods.

IMG_1086[1].JPG IMG_1081[1].JPG
F
F40LM Offline OP
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
F
Originally Posted By: Steve C.
One word:
Rustoration.
Good luck and I can't wait to see the result.

Thanks Steve.