Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#21029 Mon Apr 23 2001 03:17 PM
J
OP Offline
J
Hi Guys,
I'm a newbie here and looking for information on a recently acquired gas pump.
It's a Gilbarco 906 Ser # 11411. I'd like to know the approx age of this pump and what is the most common path to take for restoration. I'm building a 1953 Ford f-100 truck and this will look neat outside the garage.. should I gut the pump works and leave the counter unit... It doesn't have a globe on top..but there is a panel that I assume could be removed and a globe added. It has old worn Chevron decals on both covers ( are these available as reproductions ???)The pump appears to be in working condition... I'd appreciate some direction from you gurus of gas pumps.

Thanks in advance

John Niolon [email]jniolon@wans.net[email]

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#21030 Tue Apr 24 2001 05:36 AM
S
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
S
Hi John....I am from a company called Vic's Place in Oklahoma. We carry restoration supplies for most any kind of gas pump you could find. Taking the guts out is the most logical first step. It makes the pump lighter and easier to work with and less smelly!! Next, you would probably need to totally disassemble the pump, i.e. take off the doors, the side panels, and the dome top.
You would then need to have all the sheet metal sand-blasted or chemically stripped, so any body work and painting could be done.