Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#151334 Mon Sep 07 2009 07:51 PM
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
I started work on a Bennett 756 this week, and this pump was bad… It is the pump I am leaving the guts in because it was never messed with before.

I took this pump apart, banged the panels somewhat straight, then rolled in the English wheel to smooth down, sandblasted, and then started the bondo work. As I put the bondo down, then started sanding with the in-line using 36 grit I would stop and pin down high spots and at the same time I smacked up low spots, reapply in an attempt to try and keep the bondo less then the thickness of a quarter. I finally finished up the bondo work tonight and realized that I have now gone through one gallon of bondo on these panels and it looks like snow in the driveway. I bet I have sanded off ¼ of that bondo but dang… One gallon, that seems like a lot and I have never used that much on a pump before. Even my neighbor came over and pointed out that I am doing more bondo work then he has ever seen me do on a pump before.

My QUESTION:
Have any of you ever ended up using that much “or more” bondo on a pump before?

Travis
Topeka, Kansas

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
R
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
R