Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
O
OP Offline
O
I'm sorry, I don't know if this is a rant or if there really is an answer, but how do sellers now protect themselves from eBay?

I sold and American Girl doll for my daughter, but assume it could be a sign or globe. It was in like new condition and described as such. It was sold for $65 +10 for shipping. When the buyer received it they sent me pictures of a mutilated doll asking why I didn't point out these flaws. They said give me $25 or a full refund including shipping. I contacted paypal right away and they said it was up to me what I wanted to do and that since I've been selling for 15 years without any negs that would bode very well for me.

Knowing that eBay has no way of knowing exactly who is telling the truth, I chose to pay the $25 and cut my losses to as little as possible because you never know who will win as nobody really has ANY proof as to what was sent or received.
After I agreed, they demanded a full refund, I declined. They then opened a case against me and I said I agreed to their demand of $25 only because it would cut my losses to as little as possible even though the doll they sent pictures of was not the doll I sent.

Within an hour, eBay agreed with them for a full refund and paypal is going to give them $75 as long as they send me the mutilated doll back.
There's no way I can sell on eBay anymore when it's that easy for a buyer to rip you off.

My daughter is out her doll and the $10 shipping. How in the world can a seller protect themselves from this kind of fraud?

TBA Feature Host
TBA Feature Host
Sellers have almost NO protection on ebay. Ebay is out for the buyer and will do everything to keep that buyer happy.

The most valuable commodity I know of is information-Wall Street
B
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
B