Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#741250 Fri Dec 27 2019 05:10 PM
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
Not sure where to post this, I'm sure mods will move it if needed. I have been selling things on Craigslist for many years. I know that when I post an ad I will quickly get responses from scammers, it's just the way it goes, but have never had any issues here on Oldgas. I posted an item for sale here yesterday and very quickly got a pm from a new member saying they would like to buy it. Membership status is "new" but it shows that they joined in 2018. 0 posts to date. I figured I would do my diligence and pm'd back my phone number and asked that they call me. My message has not been read , no phone call. I won't out them at this time unless a mod says it's ok as it may be totally innocent, but I have a suspicion that scammers may be sniffing around here. Just wanted to warn everyone to keep your guard up. Maybe this has been going on for a while but it's a first for me here on Oldgas

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
ironheadtom #741269 Sat Dec 28 2019 08:56 AM
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
I would add my 2 cents. I know the internet world can be shady and Oldgas is a refuge of integrity for me. I would hate to see any “invasion” of scammers. I do not know what could be done but I would hope that such activity would never find its way into this domain.

ironheadtom #741271 Sat Dec 28 2019 09:14 AM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Originally Posted by ironheadtom