Click here for Petro Porcelain Sign auction listings

Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
N
OP Offline
N
I am new to this sport/hobby and have lots of questions. Some of these probably sound pretty dumb, but, I don't know and unless I ask, I won't learn.
1. Did companies limit themselves to one brand of pump, or did they use different makers of pumps? Kind of like, they would go with the best deal.
2. Is there a source/document for deciphering the serial numbers of Tolkheim 39 pumps?
3. Where can i find out the different color schemes of pumps and the years they were used?

Any help will be appreciated.
Gas Pump Rookie.

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
J
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
J
You are making an assumption the all gas pumps were purchased by the oil companies. Many stations were owned by an individual and he purchased he pumps from the local petroleum equipment company closest to where he was located. The petroleum equipment companies usually carried one pump companies products. Many small filling stations purchased used/rebuilt pumps.

Over the years some oil companies got affiliated with one or more pump companies. Sinclair purchased many Bennett pumps for the stations that Sinclair owned and were operated by dealers. Standard Oil had a close affiliation with Gilbert & Barker, even investing in G&B.

Big oil companies were divided into zones, and each zone could choose which company they were going to purchase their pump from.