Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
P
OP Offline
P
Dear Oldgas friends.

It is a pleasure to share with you the results of my ten-year research as a scholar especialized in the pioneer tire companies graphic design and advertising strategies (1880s-1930s). I’m a professor of Graphic Design subject at the University of Barcelona, Catalonia, a pasionated academic researcher and writer… and a collector too.

If you want to know more about the Hood Tire & Rubber Company of Watertown, Massachusetts and its amazing advertising history, download it in the link:
http://diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/126382/153/39.pdf

There you will find an entire article devoted to Hood Co. written by me, accompanied by dozens of incredible images never published before. Surely it's worth looking at!

I hope you enjoy the fruits of my academic research, gathered in my doctoral thesis dealing with the American pioneer tire industry: The Forgotten Years of Bibendum. Michelin’s American Period in Milltown: Design, Illustration and Advertising by Pioneer Tire Companies (1900-1930).

There you will find the story of other important tire companies such as Kelly-Springfield, Fisk, Gillette, Cupples, Lee, Republic, India and Miller, among others.

You can find them in the link:
http://diposit.ub.edu/dspace/handle/2445/126382

I wish you to be useful.

I'm looking forward to reading your comments and apportations to the topic!

Greetings from Barcelona, the capital of Catalonia.

Sincerely, Pau.

---------------------------------
Dr. Pau Medrano-Bigas
Professor of Graphic Design at the Grade of Design.
Department of Visual Arts and Design.
Sant Jordi Faculty of Fine Arts.
University of Barcelona.
------
Email (Department): pau.medrano.bigas@ub.edu
------
Member of GRACMON,
Research Group in
Contemporary Art and Design History,
University of Barcelona.

17.jpg
Hood 1

11.jpg 08.jpg 15.jpg