Oldgas.com Home
Posted By: bwfergus Fall Dixie Gas - Sat Aug 08 2015 02:17 AM
Who alls going?

Any tips for a first timer? Never have been able to go, but taking vacation time off this year. Me and the fiancé are planning to be there.

Thanks!
Brandon
Posted By: mavericks8371 Re: Fall Dixie Gas - Sat Aug 08 2015 04:52 AM
Just take a pocket full of money and you'll be ok lol first time I went was this year it was good and they had the hot rod run the same weekend made it even better it was pretty nice
Posted By: gasmansgp Re: Fall Dixie Gas - Sat Aug 08 2015 10:58 AM
I've been doing the Spring and Fall show for over fifteen years....probably longer? Chip and I tried to remember exactly when, but our memories are about as bad as OLD Age allows....LOL! Fall Dixie is always a Hoot and you will be glad you went. Trailers are opened before dawn on Thursday morning. Chip holds a true....no early selling show. Paul www.severngaspumps.com
Posted By: Loyd Pierce Re: Fall Dixie Gas - Sat Aug 08 2015 11:11 AM
Get your hotel room in advance, with the hot rods in town you might have trouble finding a place if you wait till the weekend of the event. Easy walking shoes as its on a hill side,after you make a couple laps one leg may feel shorter than the other. Turning around and doing it backwards from the last trip seems to fix this. Need to be there early Thursday and Friday. Great show with lots to see, and Chip does a great job of hosting the event.
Posted By: Lastgas15 Re: Fall Dixie Gas - Sat Aug 08 2015 11:48 AM
Loyd is correct. Book your hotel early. The hotels in Newport will be easier on your wallet. The hotels in Pigeon Forge will have a few more amenities. There's a lot of stuff to do in Pigeon Forge after the show winds down in the evening.
Traffic can be really bad in Pigeon Forge and Sevieville.

The Sagebrush Saloon in Newport has excellent ribs!

A visit to Floyd Garrett's Muscle Car Museum in Sevierville is a must if you're a car guy.