Oldgas.com Home
Posted By: GrandpaBear Wayne Model 1 - Thu Jul 24 2014 05:09 PM
I am new to the hobby and also new to Oldgas. I picked a Wayne Model 1 as a place to start, mainly because I found one that seems to be complete and needs mostly cosmetic work and basic refurb. I was surprised when I went looking for info about this pump. As best as I can tell, it was manufactured in the 60's which makes it newer than what it appears most of you focus on. That said, it also appears to be too old for what I can find on Wayne's site and other contemp parts suppliers. Does this mean I am in NOMAN's land - too new for vintage restorers and too old for serviceable eqpt? At any rate, as I started disassembly, I realized how little I know about gas pump restoration. So....for starters it would be helpful if someone could provide basic advice:

Does anybody know of a source of info (parts manuals, operators manuals, etc.) for a Wayne Model 1?

The pic below (I hope it makes the trip!) is with the top, windows, bezels and lower panels removed. I did not take a picture before I took these off. Fortunately, I think the pump is basically complete.

Attached picture DSC_3979a.jpg
Posted By: Dick Bennett Re: Wayne Model 1 - Thu Jul 24 2014 05:13 PM
http://petrolianacollectibles.com/gas%20pump%20literature.htm
WAYNE Model #1 1957
http://petrolianacollectibles.com/wayne%201.htm
Posted By: GrandpaBear Re: Wayne Model 1 - Thu Jul 24 2014 05:58 PM
Thanks! Do you know if there is an easy way to tell which version of the repair parts list is applicable to my pump? I am not sure of the date of manufacture, but attached is a copy of the manufacturer's ID plate and it has a "65" in the S/N section. Suppose this means it was made in 1965 so the 1957 parts manual would apply?

Attached picture DSC_4034a.jpg
Posted By: Dick Bennett Re: Wayne Model 1 - Thu Jul 24 2014 06:11 PM
Pump was 1st made in '57 & as w/ most pumps made for many years w/ little on no change.